rca: Ch= RC-459-C; 46X3

ID: 292850
? rca: Ch= RC-459-C; 46X3 
14.Jul.12 00:34

David Harris (USA)
Count of Thanks: 6

Hi everyone. I am new at the alignment application of tube radio's. I have RCA 46X3 that is just giving me fits trying to align it. It has been capped and cleaned and the tubes checked on my tester. But I can't seem to induce the signal for adjusting the if cans/osc. I tried inducing the signal via a .01 cap into the 4 pin of the 12SK7 and adjusting the #2 IF can but I can not hear the signal at all. I also tried to induce the signal by laying the alligator clip on the loop ant. Still nothing. I know these IF cans are way out of whack by now. So I need some help please.

Any suggestions please. I am new at this so I am sure I am doing something wrong.

Thanks !

David  (davidharrisdch@aol.com)

To thank the Author because you find the post helpful or well done.

IF injection 
14.Jul.12 12:01
25 from 2393

Michael Watterson (IRL)
Editor
Articles: 1071
Count of Thanks: 9

I use about 15 turns on 6" plastic square holder connected to the Generator and set that near loop aerial or ferrite rod. Then tune to blank spot on bottom of MW (BC) i.e. about 550m or 530kHz

If the set has only an external aerial then I wind about 2 turns of 6' wire near socket leaving the other end open. You need a tone (between 350Hz and 1kHz, 400Hz is fine) and 20% to 50% modulation (30% is good) or you can only see AVC/AGC voltage change. Put audio volume to maxiumum and reduce signal generator level to have "normal" volume level of tone on the speaker.